The Virginia state-wide burning law is now in effect until April 30th.
The law says no burning is allowed until after 4 PM if the fire is within 300 feet of dry grass. Fires should not be left unattended if within 150 feet of dry grass and no new fires can be set after midnight. This law applies to campfires, warming fires, brush piles, leaves, household trash, stumps and fields of broomstraw. However, in the city of Winchester and other localities across the state, they have burning laws in effect all year round.
“As far as open burning in Winchester, you can have small recreational fires which are in fire containers or a fire rings. The fuel load can’t be any bigger than two by three feet,” said Winchester city fire marshal Matthew Gearhart.
The Virginia Department of Forestry says anyone who chooses to not follow this law will face a maximum penalty of $500 plus court costs and fire suppression costs.