Frederick County republicans nominate candidates for November election


The Frederick County, Virginia Republican Committee held a canvass on Tuesday night to nominate candidates for the Commissioner of the Revenue, Sheriff and the Board of Supervisors. 

Seth Thatcher won the Commissioner of the Revenue nomination 600-533, Allen Sibert won the Frederick County Sheriff nomination 693-428, Charles DeHaven won the Board of Supervisors Chairman-At-Large nomination 670-446 and Shawn Graber won the Board of Supervisors Back Creek District 134-99. 

“So our Frederick County unit decided that they would have what’s called a firehouse primary, or a canvass, so basically any registered voter could come to this one polling place here at Greenwood Fire Department and vote for the candidate of their choice,” said Sibert. 

Winchester sheriff’s chief deputy, Sibert, ran against Strasburg police officer, Scott Madigan, for the sheriff nomination. 

“As I moved up through the ranks, I actually thought it was a very obtainable goal for me and what better way than to get all the way through and the pinnacle of your career, that brass ring so to speak,” said Sibert. 

Sibert has been in law enforcement for 30 years, and Madigan, who declined to comment, began his career in 2005. 

“I have the 12 years experience working in the office. I also have gotten a Masters Deputy Commissioner of the Revenue certification which comes from the University of Virginia Weldon Cooper Center,” said Thatcher. 

Thatcher’s opponent was Jeff Boppe. 

“I know I have kept to my tagline which is vision, experience and leading with integrity and it was very important to me to run my type of race,” said Boppe.

Gary Lofton challenged DeHaven in the Board of Supervisors Chairman-At-Large race and Graber ran against James Smith in the Board of Supervisors Back Creek District race. 

“When you’re in the same party, picking which candidate, that actually forces you to use your critical thinking skills,” said James Wood republican club president Timothy Johnson.

Thatcher, Sibert, DeHaven and Graber will be on the ballot in November. 

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

honoring you banner

Stay Connected


Don't Miss

More Local News

Trending Stories