FCPS names finalists for 2021-22 Student Member of the Board of Education


FREDERICK COUNTY, Md. (WDVM) — Five candidates have been selected as finalists to become the next student member of the Board of Education of Frederick County.

These finalists were chosen through a vetting process and now FCPS middle and high school students have the chance to vote on the next student member.

The five candidates, listed alphabetically by last name, are:

  • Jeanelle Agyem, is a junior at Urbana High. She serves as Secretary of the organization Maryland Youth and Government and is a member of Future Business Leaders of America.
  • Dominic Phillips-Moore, of Frederick High, is a sophomore and President of the Frederick County Association of Student Councils. He’s also on the executive board of his school’s Student Government Association.
  • Quinn Scholtes, attends Oakdale High and is Vice President of the school’s Student Government Association. She’s a junior who also participates in the Rotary Club of Frederick’s Interact service organization.
  • Sam Starrs, of Oakdale High, is a junior and a member of the executive board of Oakdale’s Student Government Association. He’s also captain of the varsity indoor track team.
  • Jacob Winters, a sophomore at Brunswick High, is active in the school’s Student Government Association. He is also a member of the school’s Minority Essence Club.

A virtual candidates forum will be held on January 14th for candidates to share their platforms. Voting will be open until February 5th.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Local News Headlines

Stay Connected


Don't Miss

More Local News

Trending Stories