Beacon Honors Conference recognizes eight Montgomery College stand-outs

Eight Montgomery College student-faculty pairs are celebrating after receiving awards at the Beacon Honors Conference.
Twenty-two MC students delivered a panel or poster presentation at SUNY Orange Community College on June 2. They competed against students from 17 other community college honors programs.
The Beacon Honors Conference recognizes outstanding work in research, writing and speaking.
“So many of our student winners in Montgomery College represent a vast diversity, and it provides that level playing field. Really what you’re looking at is the quality of the academic work that they are presenting,” said Professor Effie Siegel, college-wide Beacon Coordinator.
Montgomery College’s Germantown Campus will host next year’s Beacon Honors Conference in June.
Here’s the list of this year’s MC student winners and their faculty mentors:
  • Melissa Rojas (Professor Shweta Sen) 
  • Tasneem Islam and Abigail Wikner (Dr. Nathan Zook) 
  • Carolyn Godfrey (Dr. Carole Wolin)
  • Taraneh Kelishadi (Dr. Michael Harding) 
  • Nirav Mehta (Dr. Christina Devlin) 
  • Hannah Shraim and Emma Trebel (Professor Effie Siegel).

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Local News Headlines


Stay Connected


Don't Miss

More Local News

Trending Stories